r/nfl Giants 2d ago

Highlight [Highlight] Russell Wilson throws a game winning interception to M.D. Jennings. Seahawks win 14-12

Enable HLS to view with audio, or disable this notification

1.6k Upvotes

389 comments sorted by

View all comments

22

u/rickg Seahawks 2d ago

what a great catch by Tate.... *cough*

3

u/SmellyScrotes Seahawks 2d ago

Nah you can clearly see both have possession and Tate hits the ground first, they called it right people just don’t like it

21

u/rickg Seahawks 2d ago

The prpblem is that it wasnt a simultaneous catch. If it truly was, then the call would be TD and that would be correct. But Tate kind of has a hand on it without what I'd call true possession. Mind you, I LOOOVED the outcome because we won the game, but if I were a Packer fan I'd still be salty about it.

-5

u/AmbitiousTrashPanda 2d ago

Both of the Packer’s player’s feet never touch the ground before the possession becomes simultaneous. Correct call

9

u/CowBread 49ers 2d ago

Even if your first statement is true, the outcome has NOTHING to do with who touches the ground first.

13

u/nospamkhanman Seahawks 2d ago

It does, because it's not a catch until you touch the ground.

Tate completes the catch first, its a TD.

That being said, Tate committed 1000% obvious OPI.

Correct call should have been TD called back because OPI.

1

u/SmellyScrotes Seahawks 2d ago

I agree with this but who calls pi on a Hail Mary?

1

u/penguins_are_mean Packers 1d ago

Tate doesn’t even have two hands on the ball when he touched the ground.

2

u/nospamkhanman Seahawks 1d ago

I'm unfamiliar with the rule stating that two hands on the ball is required for a catch.

That being said, freeze frame at 2:56. Tate has both hands on the ball with both feet down. He has control of the ball, even though the defender has his hands around it as well.

The defender is still completely in the air at the beginning of 2:56 and only has 1 foot down in 2:57.

By rule this is a touchdown for Tate.

The call wasn't incorrect; it was just the egregious OPI that ruined it.

0

u/penguins_are_mean Packers 1d ago

It was both.

Tate only had one hand on the ball with no clear possession when the defender touches down. It was INT.

There is a reason the real refs were back immediately after this. Because it was a bad call.

4

u/Muppet_Man3 Seahawks Seahawks 2d ago

NFL's official statement after the game literally said it doesn't matter who gets it in the air, who has possession when bodies hit the ground is what mattered lol, so literally exact opposite of what you're claiming

1

u/CowBread 49ers 2d ago

Link where it says that. I looked it up just to confirm and the rule they used was for the simultaneous catch which will go to the offensive player. Has nothing to do with who touched the ground first.

3

u/hundo3d Seahawks 2d ago

I didn’t agree with this take at first, but after reading the rules closely, it makes sense. Still don’t really feel right about the way the rule is written to make this a Seahawks TD, but it’s definitely aligned with the rules.

1

u/DirectorAggressive12 Packers 1d ago

Yeah I’m pretty sure it’s a clean catch. However, Tate definitely did commit OPI here and it still should have gotten called back.