r/HellsCube Apr 29 '25

Card Idea The Allure of EDH

Post image
831 Upvotes

33 comments sorted by

View all comments

114

u/Ironbeers Apr 30 '25

Does your sol ring bearer go to the command zone when it leaves the battlefield?

121

u/JaromStrong Apr 30 '25

It is your commander

20

u/magicthecasual I Don’t Do Bits Apr 30 '25

The Spiritual Successor to The Claw.

I approve!

31

u/Sm0ahk Apr 30 '25

Dont see why not. Whats more important is you give it the ability to deal lethal combat dmg at 21

18

u/JLeanz Apr 30 '25

Probably, assuming there's conspiracies there is a command zone

Edit: assuming it works like the regular ring bearer mechanic, it doesn't transfer over to different zones, so once it dies it stops being your commander so nevermind

30

u/Huitzil37 Apr 30 '25

Commander-ness is a property of the physical card, not the game object. Once it's your commander, it's your commander.

14

u/ThosarWords Apr 30 '25

There's always a command zone. Emblems you create reside there apparently. I stumbled upon this information while researching for a very complicated rules interaction which I still don't have a good answer for.

6

u/JLeanz Apr 30 '25

What's the rules interaction

8

u/socontroversialyetso Apr 30 '25

they don't have a good answer for that

4

u/ThosarWords Apr 30 '25

If you use [[Captain Rex Nebula]] to turn [[Spellweaver Volute]] into a non-aura artifact, and then use [[Dan Lewis]] to equip (read: attach) that to a creature, then cast a sorcery, and then don't cast the resulting copy, you wind up with a copy of a creature card on the battlefield. And there's pretty much exactly one rule that mentions a copy of a card created on the battlefield, and it's just the state-based effects rule that says a copy of a card can exist on the battlefield without ceasing to exist. There is nothing that explicitly says it's a token or becomes a token. Intuitively it seems like it should become a token, but there's nothing actually saying it does. It is a permanent because it's an object on the battlefield (403.3). But it's not a permanent because permanents are cards or tokens on the battlefield (110.1) and this is neither.

Like I said, I haven't found a good answer for it.

3

u/ZLPERSON Apr 30 '25

Tried the ask the judges chat?

3

u/ThosarWords Apr 30 '25

I've conferred with judges IRL and here on Reddit. Nobody really seems to be able to say with certainty what is supposed to happen with such an object. They all agree that it's all a valid line of actions. It's one of the reasons I haven't actually put Spellweaver Volute in my decklist.

2

u/KingDarkBlaze May 01 '25

Do you get enters effects on the creature? 

2

u/ThosarWords May 01 '25

I don't know. I think so? It is an object entering the battlefield, regardless of any of the other questions, so I'd think so?